ACM - Computers in Entertainment

Burbank International Film Festival 2013

By Newton Lee

The Burbank International Film Festival 2013 was held from September 4 to 8 at Warner Bros. Studios, Universal Studios, AMC Burbank Town Center, and Woodbury University in Burbank, CA.

The opening night showcased the documentary film The Brothers Warner” by filmmaker Cass Warner Sperling (Harry Warner’s granddaughter). The film tells a story of a family that rose from immigrant poverty through personal tragedies persevering to create a major studio with a social conscience.

The closing night gala awards show and dinner was held at the Burbank Castaways on September 8th. The Burbank International Film Festival not only acknowledged the award-winning filmmakers, but also honored award-winning industry icons and professionals that have shaped and defined the world of cinema today.

The following pictorials chronicle the 2013 Burbank International Film Festival closing night gala awards show.

All photos were taken by Newton Lee, editor-in-chief of ACM Computers in Entertainment.


From left to right: 

1. Patrick Kirkpatrick, American actor with more than 125 films and TV shows including: “Minority Report,” “Dark Angel,” “Last Man Standing,” “CSI: Crime Scene Investigation,” and “24.”

2. Edward Clift, director of education for the Burbank International Film Festival, and dean of the Woodbury University School of Media, Culture, and Design.

3. Wen Song, founder and art director of the FIRST International Film Festival Xining.

4. Shuai Yang, film student.

Jeff Rector, President and Director of the Burbank International Film Festival whose TV credits include “The Bold and the Beautiful,” “NYPD Blue,” and “Beverly Hills 90210.”

Fritz Coleman, NBC4’s weathercaster and host of the 2013 Burbank International Film Festival.

Marco Beltrami, award-winning composer and voice actor for Hollywood blockbusters including: “Scream,” “3:10 to Yuma,” “The Hurt Locker,” “A Good Day to Die Hard,” “Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines,” “I-Robot,” “Wolverine,” and “World War Z.”

Jennifer Yuh Nelson, director of “Kung Fu Panda 2,” which made her the highest-grossing female director at the global box office.

Brenda Chapman received the 2013 Animation Honoree award. She wrote and directed “Brave” for DreamWorks Animation and won an Academy Award. Her other work include: “Beauty and the Beast,” “The Lion King,” “The Rescuers Down Under,” “The Hunchback of Notre Dame,” “Fantasia 2000,” “The Prince of Egypt,” “Cars,” “Who Framed Roger Rabbit,” “Shrek,” “WALL-E,” “Ratatouille,” “Up,” and “Toy Story 3.”

Mike Hill, world-renowned artist and sculptor for such films as “The Wolfman,” “M.I.B. III,” “American Horror Story.”


Neville Page, creature and concept designer for blockbuster movies including: “Avatar,” “Star Trek,” “Star Trek Into Darkness,” “Super 8,” “Green Lantern,” “Tron: Legacy,” and “Watchmen.”


RJ Mitte, co-star on the Emmy-winning AMC drama “Breaking Bad.”

James and Dawn O’Keefe received the 2013 President’s Innovation Award for their feature documentary “Go Public: A Day in the Life of an American School District.” On May 8, 2012, 50 directors and their small camera crews followed 50 individuals who attend, support, and work in the Pasadena Unified School District, a racially and economically diverse district with 28 public school campuses.


Michelle Monaghan, American actress best known for her roles in “Mission: Impossible III,” “Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol,” “Kiss Kiss Bang Bang,” “Gone Baby Gone,” “Made of Honor,” “The Heartbreak Kid,” “Eagle Eye,” and “Source Code.”


Shane Black wrote, directed, and produced the Marvel blockbuster “Iron Man 3.” His other movies include: “Kiss Kiss Bang Bang,” “Lethal Weapon,” “The Last Boy Scout,” “The Long Kiss Goodnight,” “Last Action Hero,” “Predator,” and “Doc Savage.”


John Savage’s first major film role was starring opposite Robert Deniro and Christopher Walken in the Academy Award winning film “The Deer Hunter.” His other screen credits include “The Thin Red Line,” “The Godfather Part III,” “Dark Angel,” “Star Trek: Voyager,” “Fringe,” “Law & Order: Special Victims Unit,” “Law & Order: Criminal Intent,” and “Dark Rising.”


Greg P. Russell is a world-renowned sound mixer for more than 190 films with 16 Oscar nominations. He mixed such films as “Tequila Sunrise,” “The Bodyguard,” “Usual Suspects,” “Steel Magnolias,” “Star Trek IV,” “Point Break,” and “Stargate.” He earned Oscar nominations for “The Rock,” “Con Air,” “Armageddon,” “The Mask of Zorro,” “The Patriot,” “Pearl Harbor,” “Spider-Man,” “Spider-Man 2,” “Memoirs of a Geisha,” “Apocalypto,” all three “Transformer” films, “Salt,” and “Skyfall.”


Judi Shekoni, best known for her role as “Zafrina” in “Twilight: Breaking Dawn Part II.”


Actor Joseph Kibler and director Mark Bashian received an award for the documentary feature film “Walk On”—a film about Joseph training for an AIDS walk while educating others about HIV and disabilities with the help of a quadriplegic, an amputee, and a disabled Veteran.


USC student director Kevin Luu and cast received a student film award for “Hear Me Roar,” a coming of age story about a young boy who tries to overcome his anxiety and shyness.


Director John Burr and cast received a new media/drama award for “Boots,” a story about a man waking up on Skid Row in Los Angeles with severe PTSD and amnesia.


Burbank High School student director Jessie Butera and cast received a student film award for “Being,” a story of a girl who no longer believes in relying on others and discovers who she really is.


Jeff Rector and Kimber Eastwood (daughter of Clint Eastwood) announced nominees and winners.


Director Zeng Weijing received an animation award for “Wings of Time,” a story of a mythical beast and his adventure with a Beijing girl Zhao Xiaowu.


Director Adam Watson and cast received a foreign feature film award for “Los Traficantes,” a true story of former Mexican drug lord Esteban Mendoza Cruz who in 1999 experienced a major transformation after finding redemption through faith in Christ while serving a 33-year sentence in La Mesa prison in Tijuana.


Director Camilla Sullivan received a feature documentary award for “Ghost Exchange,” a movie probing the current state of U.S. capital markets, the impact of high frequency and algorithmic trading, and the lack of regulatory oversight.


Director Luke Boney received a faith-based films award for “Static,” a story of a young girl struggling to reconcile her relationship with her father after an accident on the international space station.


Christian Pitre, who starrred in “Crazy, Stupid, Love” and “Bounty Killer,” announced nominees and winners.


Director Raphael Sbarge received a new media/drama award for “On Begley Street,” a Web series that explores the building of North America’s greenest and most sustainable home.


Scott Wolf co-won the Best Actor award for his role in “Imagine,” a film about a paramedic living under a cloud of guilt after he was unable to save his daughter from drowning.


Eddie McClintock ("Warehouse 13") co-won the Best Actor award for his role in “A Fish Story,” a film about a loving father and devoted husband working tirelessly to finish the families newly built fishing cabin on the lake.

Jayne Heitmeyer (“Earth: Final Conflict”) co-won the Best Actress award for her role in “A Fish Story,” a film about a loving father and devoted husband working tirelessly to finish the families newly built fishing cabin on the lake.

Elizabeth Schmidt co-won the Best Actress award for her role in “Incident on Highway 73,” a story about the final hours of Jeff and Kelly who mysteriously disappeared during a trip through the desert on Christmas Eve 2005.